Universal Design for Learning is a Philosophy – Not a Practice

Think UDL is just about accommodation and means more work for educators? Think again. Northeastern Illinois University’s Thomas Tobin busts some myths about universal design for learning, and explains how to get the most out of it.

Tobin recommends to “start by choosing one or two different areas in your course where students always have difficulty or questions, and add just one more way that provides additional information or choices in how they can submit their answers. “For example, if I have 45 of my students writing three-page essays, by about essay number 23 I’m kind of regretting that I can’t keep a bottle of scotch in my desk drawer,” he jokes. “So if I provide an alternative option of submitting a five-minute video, and as long as the objectives of the assignment are not tied to the format, I can grade both of those mediums using the same rubric.”

Source: Universal Design for Learning is a Philosophy – Not a Practice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *